History Made at Canadian Championships

Winnipeg, MB, May 22, 2019 – History was made Tuesday at the Racquetball Canada Canadian Championships being held in Langley, BC. The tournament runs from May 19 to 25.

Samuel Murray of Baie-Comeau and Tommy Murray of St-Hubert, QC won the Men’s Open Doubles event defeating Tim Landeryou and James Landeryou of Saskatoon. This is the first time in Canadian history that two sets of brothers have played in the finals and the first time the title has been won by brothers, making it a emotional win.

The final was a tight and intense match that lasted well over two hours. It looked like Team Landeryou had the first game in hand but the Murrays fought back to win 17-15. The second game went in favour of the Landeryou brothers, winning with a margin of 15-10, but the Murrays came out and dominated in the tie breaker winning 11-1.

This is Samuel Murray’s fourth Canadian Doubles championship title but this is the first for Tommy Murray who is the older of the two.

The Men’s Open Doubles bronze medal match was more decisive with Coby Iwaasa of Lethbridge and Trevor Webb of Cambridge defeating Pedro Castro of Brossard and Nicolas Bousquet of Quebec in two straight matches, 15-11, 15-9.

Winnipeg’s Jennifer Saunders and Danielle Drury of Saskatoon won gold in the Women’s Open Doubles event. This is the team’s second Canadian Women’s Open Doubles championship title together. The two also won the event in 2015 and recently teamed up at the Pan Am Championships to win silver in women’s doubles. This is Saunders thirteenth Open Doubles Championship title and Drury’s second. With this win, Saunders furthers her title record, holding more singles and double open titles than any Canadian athlete in the history of the sport in Canada.

Drury and Saunders won with a first place finish in round robin play. Their toughest match was again the silver medal team of Christine Richardson of Winnipeg and Michèle Morissette of Baie-Comeau. Saunders and Drury won the first match 15-12, but fell behind in the second before losing 6-15. They went on to win 11-7 in the tie-breaker.

Marjolaine Parent and Juliette Parent of St. Jacques de Montcalm finished the round robin pool in third place, winning the bronze medal. This is the first Canadian Women’s Open medal for both athletes.

There were several other doubles skill and age events played over the past two days at the Canadian Championships. The Racquetball Canada Canadian Championships provides competition for both high performance and sport for life athletes.

Final Results

Match and podium results are listed at the end of this release.

Racquetball Canada is the national sport governing body for the sport of Racquetball in Canada. Along with the support of the Government of Canada and many valued partners, Racquetball Canada develops competitive national teams and oversees programs that grow the sport of racquetball in Canada. For more information visit our website at www.racquetball.ca.

Media Contact:

Jan Hanson

Director of Communications and Marketing

Racquetball Canada Board of Directors


2019 Canadian Championships – Doubles Podium Results

Men’s Open Doubles

1. Samuel Murray (Baie-Comeau, QC) / Tommy Murray (St-Hubert, QC)

2. James Landeryou (Saskatoon, SK) / Tim Landeryou (Saskatoon, SK)

3. Coby Iwaasa (Lethbridge, AB) / Trevor Webb (Cambridge, ON)

Men’s Elite/A Doubles

1. Allan Bauman (St. Albert, AB) / Jeff Miller (Spruce Grove, AB)

2. Bill Shepley (Red Deer, AB) / Randy Pentland (Red Deer, AB)

3. Ryan Mosdell / Terry Mosdell (Surrey, BC)

Men’s B Doubles

1. Peter Callioux (Langley, BC) / Rick Sheren (Langley, BC)

2. Evan Pritchard (Winnipeg, MB) / Dan Smith (Timberlea, NS)

3. Dave Crosby (Burnaby, BC) / Joe Lozinski (Coquitlam, BC)

Men’s C Doubles

1. Len Gerelus (Winnipeg, MB) / Roger Havrilenko (Winnipeg, MB)

2. Allan Meston (Charlottown, PEI) / Ron Zim (Toronto, ON)

3. Darrell Davis (Regina, SK) / Bobby Lague (Saskatoon, SK)

Men’s 45 Doubles

1. Brian Killins (Coquitlam, BC) / Corey Osborne (Penetanguishene, ON)

2. Patrick Jauvin (Terrebonne, QC) / Jean Nolet (Levis, QC)

3. Allan Bauman (St. Albert, AB) / Jeff Miller (Spruce Grove, AB)

Men’s 55 Doubles

1. Manny Gregorio (Edmonton, AB) / John Halko (Edmonton, AB)

2. Bill Shepley (Red Deer, AB) / Randy Pentland (Red Deer, AB)

3. Lanny Jackson (Richmond, BC) / Jeff Swartz (Vancouver, BC)

Men’s 65 / 75 Doubles

1. Denis Gaucher (New Westminster, BC) / Scott Craig (Burnaby, BC)

2. Steve Hendry (Victoria, BC) / Jim McCulloch (Victoria, BC)

3. Len Gerelus (Winnipeg, MB) / Roger Havrilenko (Winnipeg, MB)

Women’s Open Doubles

1. Danielle Drury (Saskatoon, SK) / Jennifer Saunders (Winnipeg, MB)

2. Michèle Morissette (Baie-Comeau, QC) / Christine Richardson (Winnipeg, MB)

3. Juliette Parent (St. Jacques de Moncalm, QC) / Marjolaine Parent (St. Jacques de Montcalm, QC)

Women’s Doubles

1. Muriel Bouvin (Québec, QC) / Isabelle Lapierre (St. Jacques de Montcalm, QC)

2. Debra Leclair (Maple Ridge, BC) / Sue Macleod (Dartmouth, BC)

3. Kay McNeil (Dugald, MB) / Bettina Nyman (Winnipeg, MB)

Mixed Open Doubles

1. Linda Ellerington (Shields, SK) / Manny Gregorio (Edmonton, AB)

2. Murielle Bouvin (Québec, QC) / Jean Nolet (Levis, QC)

Mixed A Doubles

1. Robert Durant (Langley, BC) / Deborah Leclair (Maple Ridge, BC)

2. Marjolaine Parent / Stephan Parent (St. Jacques de Montcalm, QC)

3. Joanne Ditommaso (Vancouver, BC) / Michael Smith (Vancouver, BC)

Mixed BC Doubles

1. Bettina Nyman (Winnipeg, MB) / Peter Olynick (Winnipeg, MB)

2. Nashila Jamal (Vancouver, BC) / Jeff Swartz (Vancouver, BC)

3. Darrell Davis (Regina, SK) / Gwen Smoluk (Winnipeg, MB)

Men’s Open Doubles Final Results


(1) Coby Iwaasa (Lethbridge, AB) / Trevor Webb (Cambridge, ON), bye;

(2) James Landeryou / Tim Landeryou (Saskatoon, SK) defeated (7) Michael Leduc (Québec, QC) / Eric Urteaga (Langley, BC), 15-2, 15-4;

(3) Pedro Castro (Brossard, QC) / Nicolas Bousquet (Montréal, QC) defeated (6) Ian Frattinger (Martensville, SK) / Sean Sauve (Valleyfield, QC), 15-0, 15-7;

(4) Samuel Murray (Baie-Comeau, QC) / Tommy Murray (St. Hubert, QC) defeated (5) Lee Connell (Saskatoon, SK) / Tanner Prentice (Macrorie, SK), 15-7, 15-4.

Semi Finals

(4) Murray / Murray defeated (1) Iwaasa / Webb, 11-15, 15-10, 11-4.

(2) Landeryou / Landeryou defeated (3) Castro / Bousquet, 15-6, 14-16, 11-6.

Bronze Medal Match

(1) Iwaasa / Webb defeated (3) Castro / Bousquet, 15-11, 15-9.

Gold Medal Match

(4) Murray / Murray defeated (2) Landeryou / Landeryou, 17-15, 10-15, 11-1.

Women’s Open Doubles Final Results – Round Robin

Round 1

(1) Michele Morissette (Baie-Comeau, QC) / Christine Richardson (Winnipeg, MB) defeated (4) Juliette Parent / Marjolaine Parent (St. Jacques de Montcalm, QC), 15-1, 15-7;

(3) Danielle Drury (Saskatoon, SK) / Jennifer Saunders (Winnipeg, MB) defeated (2) Erin Geeraert (Calgary, AB) / Cassie Prentice (Macrorie, SK), 15-2, 15-12.

Round 2

(3) Drury / Saunders defeated (1) Morissette / Richardson, 15-12, 6-15, 11-7.

(4) Parent / Parent defeated (2) Geeraert / Prentice, 15-13, 15-13.

Round 3

(3) Drury / Saunders defeated (4) Parent / Parent, injury default

(1) Morissette / Richardson defeated (2) Geeraert / Prentice, 15-9, 17-15.